Skip to content

Christmas in July JustRite Challenge

July 20, 2010

Nope, I’m not chomping at the bit for the holidays…this is my JustRite Stampers entry for the Christmas in July challenge! I started with my Holiday Demi Phrases in a multi-tonal Adirondack ink.

If you’ve not used these with your JustRite Stampers, it’s such fun to see the colors blend!  I also used blending of ink colors on the “Joyful Hearts Borders and Centers“:  Martha Stewart Red “Cat’s Eye” shape for the top, then a “Forest Foliage” Stamping Up Pen Brush end marker.  I was just sure to wipe any ink off the remaining part of the stamp since I just wanted the one word.

I intended to make a tag card, but felt the card needed more presence than just the tag shape, so I mounted the “tag”  onto a lime green background and a black card. The satin ribbon is from my stash.

My Making Memories punch added piercing to alternating scallops, and to the center scallop.

The white scallop layer was inked with a three inks: a rubbing of tan (Linen-Holtz), then green (ColorChalk), then Red (Martha Stewart) on the tips.  I just kept applying color until it seemed to fit with the paper!

The little piece of holly at the top of the tag, I cut on my Cricut from the Comet’s Candyland SVG Collection from svgcuts.com for Sure Cuts a Lot users.  I added Martha Stewart white sprinkle chunky white glitter for snow.

The holly was inspired by the little pieces of holly on the JustRite Holiday Demi Phrases.  I love these because you don’t have to place each individual letter on your JustRite block–the entire phrase is preset.  Here’s the trick, a little tip for you, since there is only one phrase, to get both sides centered around the circle, I used a clear acrylic block, placed the circle nestability on the cardstock, then stamped twice (I also used this technique also for the fleurs on the outer scallop layer to see what I was doing!)

I colored the red and green holly berries with Prisma Markers, then glittered with green and red Stickles.

The “pine needles” on the large round scalloped background was stamped with Pearlescent Ivy Brilliance onto plain white cardstock using fluers from the Special Occasions JustRite Font. Using the font fleurs is one of my favorites tricks to get the perfect sized “stamp” for all your Nestability scallops!  No stamp company out there will give you enough size stamps for all Nestability sizes to pull it off on any size–I love using fleurs!

For the two middle maroon layers, I embossed cardstock on white stock using Spellbinders “Flourish” embossing plate, then inked with ColorChalk Maroon, followed by a Moonlight White Brilliance Ink Pad. The maroon layer peeking out was another Nestability Label shape with a Cuttlebug Embossing Folder.

The green border punch at the bottom is from Martha Stewart.  Both the small scallop and the “JOY” center were mounted up with pop dots (see photo insert above).

My 9-year-old son, after evaluating my card for me, told me he could do without the big bow.  {Teehee}.  I could have guessed!

I confess that I’ve never had time to make such an involved Christmas card!  Perhaps it is nice to start in July?!

Thanks for stopping by and looking!  I can’t wait to see what others come up with for the challenge!  Meet you at your post!

(Humble thanks to JustRite for the “Best Card” award.)


6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2010 8:13 am

    Gorgeous Christmas tag!!!

  2. Tanya P permalink
    July 22, 2010 10:43 am

    This is so pretty, love your big bow and the sparkle.

  3. July 22, 2010 8:19 pm

    Wow this is a real stunner!!!

  4. July 22, 2010 11:16 pm

    Congrats! Really Pretty! Such artistry!

  5. steph permalink
    July 23, 2010 7:14 am

    congrats, it’s a lovely card.

  6. July 23, 2010 4:49 pm

    Ooooh Maggie this is STUNNING and congrats to YOU! I’m so glad they made different categories since there were so many wonderful entries. I love all the details that are included here, especially the multi-tonal ink 🙂 Thanks for your SWEET comments on my snowmen. The containers are CHEESE containers and easy to find in the deli dept.

Leave a comment