Skip to content

Owl Card for Fall

October 31, 2012

My daughter has been captivated by Pinterest as she is planning her 14th birthday party.  As a result of this fetish, we are making tissue Pom-Pom flowers and fall owls for her upcoming party!  I wanted to carry the theme to her card with a graphic feel owl using tissue paper flowers for the owl’s eyes.  I am playing along  JustRite Friday Challenge #084 – Flower Power to make a card using three flowers.

The two miniature tissue paper flowers for the owl’s eyes with a little brad in the center turned out SO CUTE!  The third little flower embellishes the blue mat with a stamp using stamps from JustRite’s Times New Roman font set.

I don’t have a die set for making an owl, but I thought I love how Spellbinder’s Nestability Fancy Labels 3 Nestability served as the bones for the rest of the owl.  I used Spellbinders Nestability Ovals and Scalloped ovals for the wings.  The limb was made from the Doodle Parts Nestability die.  The embossed background is” QuickCutz Label AZ”, inked with Memento’s Moonlight White for a misty effect.  The yellow and orange matting were cut with the curved cutting tool that goes with my cutter.

Nestability dies: Oval, Circle, Oval Scallops, Doodle Parts, and Fancy Label 2, and Spellbinder’s Labels 18 for the light blue mat.

JustRite Stamps:  Demi Celebrations (“Happy Birthday to You”), and Times New Roman, 15 point, and 95 point  (flower, tiny corner flourishes, large flourishes at the bottom.)

Aren’t his little eyes the cutest ever?  This pop right up off the card and stay fluffed no matter how many times I smush them, which is great for envelopes!  I think I love owls as much as my daughter does.  He’s just a hunk of cuteness.

Thanks for stopping by!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 31, 2012 7:27 pm

    That little owl is too cute. Lolve the pom-pom flowers as eyes idea!

Leave a Reply

