Skip to content

Project Life by Season: My Thoughts

August 30, 2013

Okay, so there is no way I’m documenting every week.  Just.  Can’t.  Too little space, too little time.  I’ll do well to hit just “family life” and some seasonal stuff.  Is anyone else doing it this way?  Link up so I can see what you are doing.

I’m finding that all the “now”, “today”, and “days of the week” embellishments aren’t working for me.  Even the signage may not be as appropriate.  So, no trends are set for this approach.

My first friend is My Project Life Pinterest Board.  I’ve pinned some pages, and now I’ll go back and see what it is I like about those pages.  What stands out to me?

1.  Yellow, red, and light blue color combos. This one is by: MomRunCraft (click photo to visit her very inspiring blog). Image

2.  Some black and white photos so that the colors of the embellishments can “sing” at times. (see above photo)

3.  Lots of photos.  This one is also from MomRunCraft (love this girl’s work!)  Also lovve all the use of tan.Image

4.  Wood.  I need some little wood pieces.

5.  Buttons, but I don’t like the bulk.  How can I substitute?  Chipboard, perhaps?

6.  Journaling within the photo area so that you aren’t trying to figure out what journaling goes with which photo as you look through the book.

7.  Big titles.  Like this one from Elle’s Studio.  Image

8.  Layered cards…I need to go back through my albums and work on this.  Image

This one was pinned by Jennifer Hayes, but it didn’t have a backlink, so I’m not sure who to credit…love it, though!  Wow.  That’s a lot of gluing.  I’ll have to muster that up.

9.  Banners, ampersands, conversation bubbles, clouds & sun, coffee mugs, symbols:  I’ve downloaded some cut files from Pinterest for these.  Have to try to figure out how to fit them into family albums.

Image

10.  Words:  Hello, Daily, Love,

Recently bought a 3X5 die for cropping photos for the small pockets more easily.  This was annoying me.  Would like to have one for the large pocket as well, but can’t find it at an economical price, so, for now, will cut and do corners with my little green Wal Mart corner rounder, or the black and hot pink Xacto one from Wal*Mart…matches best that I’ve found, and I’ve read mixed reviews on the corner chomper.

11.  Tiny Attacher, by Tim Holtz, just bought one for small adhesions, can’t wait to get it in the mail!

Well, that’s all my thinking for today.  Just wanting to solidify my game plan for my next go at this “thing”.  Be sure to link up if you aren’t going about it in a “weekly” format so I can check out  your stuff!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

