Skip to content

JustRite Stampers Nestabilities Stand-Up Card

July 12, 2010

This is my entry for the “Mini-Card” Just-Rite Challenge JustRite Friday Challenge 026: Nice Notes, Sponsored by Spellbinders.

Spellbinders and Nestabilities are a match made in heaven, and that’s why I’m nuts about them.  I love things that fit!

This adorable sugar bag is from the JustRite Baking Centers Set (now on a super sale!)  I love how the text coordinates with the image and fits “JustRite”.  This set will be super-fun this summer delivering with my Double Chocolate- Chocolate Chip Amish Friendship Bread!  Mmmm…

This JustRite image set the first JustRite image products to catch my eye — I couldn’t resist it as my first JustRite image set!

For this “mini-card challenge”, I also added a couple challenge of my own:  I wanted to find a creative way to use those beautiful flourish images included in my new JustRite  font sets, and I wanted to find a way to keep the circle card from rolling when displayed.

  • The Card Base:

I love the scalloped circle cards, so I started with my circle scallop set.  I folded a piece of white cardstock to make a “card”, then place my scallop so that it did not cut part of the card hinge (three scallops not finished was just about right.)

I then cut and mounted a full scallop of the top of this base.  

  • Using my JustRite Alpha Fleurs

The JustRite alpha sets come with the most beautiful fleurs to incorporate around monogram.  I’ve been dreaming of some way to use them more in my designs.  I chose fleur images from the large 50 Pt. Special Occasions alpha set and placed them in the Large Classic Circle Scallop Nestability Set.  To see what I was doing, I trimmed the rubber around the fleur, then, mounted to a clear block and s stamped inside each scallop, one scallop at a time, all the way around the two largest scallops.

Here were the completed patterns on the first two layers from the bottom up– see how the flourishes overlapped easily inside each scallop?  I love seeing how the pattern emerges.   Has anyone else tried this?  So fun!

I  layered these two outer scallops, thrilled at how the little loop was centered between each gold scallop, then continued to work toward the center, adding my stamped image, bordered with chocolate colored cardstock, adding some gold sticky gems, pop dots the center image,  and Warm Grey #1 Copic for the bag.  I finished chalking with grey, and added white Martha Stewart glitter to accent the sugar pile.


I used a gold metallic pen to highlight the “dots” on the pattern.

  • The Great Rolling Round Card Dilemma:

If I received a pretty mini-card like one of these, I’d like to display it!  However, as you know, round cards roll!  After I tried several ways to make a stand, I had a brainstorm to use my Nestabilities Fancy Tags to try to construct one.   Whether this is an original idea, or one from a distant memory, I can’t tell you, but I can tell you that I was elated with myself for how elegant it turned out, and how easy it was!  I will be using this idea again, even for standard cards!

I adhered one end of the tab to the front of the card, then scored, as shown.  (The second tab stays unattached for sending the card, it tucks flat into the card.  The recipient slips it easily through the notch for display.)  Notice the last picture how CUTE the ends of the tag look sticking out the back of the card!

The slot was neatly made using a  Making Memories punch and the largest slot punch on the back of the card and the curls fit perfectly through it.

Now, the circle card stands elegantly…without rolling away!

Thanks for visiting and stop by again!  Perhaps the Amish bread will be done when you get here!

(My humble thanks to JustRite Stampers Inspiration Blog for Honorable Mention.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 10:28 am

    Very elegant! I love the touches of bling!

  2. Kay Bandy permalink
    July 13, 2010 4:26 pm

    Great job on the card. I hope you win.

  3. July 14, 2010 5:07 pm

    Wow, ingenious idea to use the JRS “fleurs”! GORGEOUS card!!!

  4. July 14, 2010 9:56 pm

    Beautiful card and I LOVE the way you kept it from rolling – very creative and a good problem solving solution. TFS.

Leave a Reply

