Skip to content

Journaling Older Photos Using Tabs and Labels

March 27, 2011


I posted a free SVG Label 4X4 insert, and friends wanted a visual for how it was used.  The goal was to find a way to add in journaling for each photo where I could identify people, places, my age, or location quickly when needed without taking up a lot of space.   While the photos were labeled on the back, after inserting them into these Nine Grid We R Memory Keepers Page Protectors, if was difficult to access that information.  I needed to find a quick way to move that info to the front, so I made this 4X4 tabbed file in Sure Cuts a Lot (SCAL).

These page  protectors are  the perfect size for these older square 3.5″ X 3.5″ photos.  (I am trimming the white edges off the vertical photos  as they are a tad bit wider.)  It’s been quick and easy– just a couple hours to slide them in, and no tape.  I don’t mind if they slide around a bit in the spot.  I want them secure and photo safe.

I pulled the old photos from the old sticky magnetic books.  Loved those old books of Mom’s, but they were degraded, photos were falling out, and it was just time to move on. It only took some “Un-Do”to remove the stubbornly stuck photos quickly.

As an added bonus, when I removed a graduation photo of my mom with the Un-Do, I found another very small photo of her at about age 12 wedged behind it.  I don’t have any other photos of her at that age, so it was a special treat!

Also shown are a couple photos of how I’m using punches to add journaling spots on pages where I don’t need paper inserts throughout the whole page.

For me right now, time, order, and telling the story are more important than being publisher-worthy.  I want to use these prints in a meaningful ways before  I move forward with more photo printing.  It’s freeing me up to “not feel behind”.  I figure these methods are easy to edit if I change my mind and want to do something more complex later.  But, they can be enjoyed NOW.

Now, for the next shoebox of photos crammed under my bed!  LOL

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

