Skip to content

CKC Louisville (and unrelated, the beginnings of my “Project Life” style)

March 21, 2011

I got away for a girl day. It was good. I loved going to scrapbook convention with all my “homies”, and especially my 12 yr old daughter’s excitement about going with me.  My daughter and I did every possible “make and take”!  I love the she was counting down the days to go with me.  We went two years ago and just enjoyed spending the day together.  You know if this country girl is willing to battle Louisville traffic on a day when they have the flea market, volleyball tournaments, and cheerleading convention…well, it must be fun.             I spent my budget money at “Our Daily Bread” designs stamp company.

  1. Great company
  2. Great designs
  3. Great samples
  4. Allowed phtography for ideas
  5. Very cool make and take, free, with instruction from Angie, who does some of their “how to” videos on their blog site.  She gave great tips and was mentally into what she was doing.

I bought a bird egg in the nest set, and a couple scripture sets.  They are GORGEOUS.  I will get to creating cards soon.  But, this week, a break from cards to work on photos. After the convention we hit Cheesecake Factory, something my daughter was really looking forward to.  I was really thankful to these ladies for agreeing to go there with us again. Cindy, Britany, Cathy, Theresa, Trish, Me, and Carmen This is my salmon dish at Cheesecake Factory.  It was to die for.  What’s your favorite dish? Unfortunately, I was too full for dessert.  I need a new plan. Afterward, we headed to our second annual destination:  Archiver’s at the mall.  There, I was on the hunt for some divided page protectors.  I bought several and am already ordering more of these.  (The first at Archiver’s were $6/10.  At RitzCamera.com, with free shipping, they are $4–free shipping with $1oo order. With our group placing an order together, that wasn’t too difficult to reach.) I made serious strides on my personal  “mom” book this week.  I had the entire album just about finished.  All the pages are not 100%, but I have photos in page protectors to finish them up during crops.  I think I can easily grab this book with some coordinating pictures. I am excited about  moving FAST.  I used mainly photos I’ve kept stuck here and there, seconds, wrong sized prints, tickets, flyers, happy cards…and now I’m going to work fast to get myself a “happy book” put together.   It will not necessarily be sorted by person or date, but will be focused on whatever I have ready to stick in it in a way that is meaningful to me.  I am not putting the book in order necessarily by event, though some pages are.  I want to use various size page protectors to give the book some size variety.  I am buying up page protectors left and right to have enough vertical and horizontal slots for photos.  Thank you, Lord, for some vertical page protectors on the market …FINALLY! I researched Becky Higgin’s “Project Life” format extensively this week and am excited about it for various reasons.

  1. It does move quick!
  2. It will hold all my mementos, ticket stubs, and notes without destructive tape.
  3. There is minimal paper, tape, gluing

I truly love it.  Will likely order Have ordered  an official two official kits.  I’m enjoying ideas from the Project Life, Becky Higgins online gallery, Ali Edward’s blog, and a blog I found today called “Simply Autumn” with a style very similar to Ali’s.   At Archiver’s, I also bought my first echo park kit:  “For the Record“.  Love the colors and style!  I am incorporating many of these elements into my Project Life pages.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

