Skip to content

Cutting a Gift Box with My Cricut and SCAL

January 19, 2011

This is a box I made today for my Mom’s birthday gift (a calendar that highlighted pictures of the family members birthdays who are each month.)  I looked all over town and couldn’t find a good box for it, so I decided to get on the ball.

My son came in the room as I was cutting pieces and said, “Mom, what are you doing?”

I said, “Well, I’m trying to make a box for Mamaw’s birthday give, but I’m doubting that I can do it at the moment.”

He said, “Well, I’m doubting you can do it either!”

LOL.

He said to me later, “Well, Mom, I guess you can do it!  I was wrong!” He’s so funny.

The medallion on the center of the box is from JustRite Stamper’s round 2″ Birthday on  “nestability” dies.

The box was made using Sure Cuts a Lot and my Cricut with an SVG cut file from SVGcuts.com (“Big Boutique Boxes”).  So glad I was able to download and use it immediately for my wrapping project.  The way she has the files organized to fit on the mat, each cut will cut part of the lip of the lid, and one side of the box.  Keep that in mind when choosing paper.  It helps to use coordinated paper.  That’s why two sides of my box are in one color, and the other side is different.  Cute, though!

Even though the cut file cuts the top and bottom of the box, be prepared to do some trimming.  I don’t think anyone is going to assembled the lip and sides and get it an exact square!

It was a new experience for me to take on a “paper building” project , but I look forward to trying more things with my new 12X12″ Cricut Expression.  It can handle bigger boxes and projects than my Personal sized Cricut could in the past.

This project was vastly easier with the use of a score board, which happened to be a JustRite Challenge for this week.  I would not advise a box/bag project without the use of some sort of scoring tool.  There are many types of scoring tools you can use.

This is my beautiful mom tonight at the restaurant, opening her gift.  We had such a nice evening with family, food, and laughter.

Details:

Paper:  Amanda Blu

Medallion:  Nestabilities Dies/JustRite Stamps/MS Red Embossing Powder

Tape:  Dot Runner (Elmer’s)

Challenge:  JRC_046

Happy Birthday, Mom!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 4:18 pm

    What a great box — I’m sure your Mom loved her calendar! Thanks for playing in JustRite’s challenge!

Leave a Reply

