Skip to content

Review of LetteringDelights.com SVG Cut Files for Cricut and SCAL, PLUS COUPON INFO

January 17, 2011

I just made my first svg cut from LetteringDelights.com’s new svg files.  It was cute, you just need to have an understanding of how to separate out layers and visualize breaking apart images with Sure Cuts a Lot before you can successfully make the cut on files like “Balloon Craze”.

I tend to prefer one or two layer files where color is build by seeing peeks of full layers underneath rather than building color on top with a bunch of tiny parts.

If you have not cut before, or do not enjoy “paper piecing”, but still love SVG cuts for scrapbooking or cardmaking, I would recommend starting with their “frames” sets.  I did a great cut with those and it only required basic SCAL skills.  Their card-making sets also look good, I just haven’t figured out which ones I’d prefer.  I’ll have to wait on a sale to just get them all!

The image on the left is from LetteringDelights.com’s  “square frames” set.  I cut one out as purchased, then cut a second bottom layer with the “blackout” feature turned on  in SCAL, then adhered the top to the bottom with pop dots and embellished with rhinestones.

It was a very quick project, and very elegant.

The the frame was set for squares, bust since I needed it to go around this elongated photo, I just measured how large I needed it to be, grabbed a corner of the image, and sized it on the SCAL mat.

The reindeer were also an easy cut with the “blackout” feature enabled to keep the simple, sillouette classic image I wanted for this page (I didn’t not cut the saddles shown).  It is from  “A Christmas Carol” at LetteringDelights.com.

If you are undecided about the files you want to purchase at LetteringDelights.com, my advice is that you buy one or two, then wait for your email confirmation.  Each time I purchased, they sent me a 25% off coupon along with my payment receipt, good for the next month.  If you buy everything you think you want, it’s a bit of a downer to get the coupon, so just hold back and then buy the rest.

Also, don’t forget that there is plenty stuff available for free.  Join their mailing list and you’ll get constant updates on sales…often great fonts for just $1 I’ve stocked up on through the years.  Keep in mind that the best fonts for SCAL are those with clean lines.

You can click on the banner below to join the newsletter and see if there’s anything you can’t live without.  
Free Product

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

