Skip to content

Making a Calendar from a Scrapbook Calendar Kit Using SVG Cut Files

January 16, 2011


Well, I have to say, these calendars were so much fun that I made two…one for my husband’s birthday, and one for my Mom’s.  This book was for my mom. It took about three full days.

I put a photo on each month with a person in the photo who had a birthday in that month.  (In the second album, I did a collage of last year of family event of things that happened in every month.)

They could be embellished as much or as little as you like, using either the stickers included in the Kit, your own embellishments. I used two different brand kits, both came with two coordinating papers for each month with ample solid paper for matting.

For the one shown here, I used a Calendar Kit from DCWV 8″ X 8.5″.  I purchased it for $8.99 from JoAnns. Great price!   It included not only all the beautiful coordinating paper, but also stickers, and the calendar itself.  It also included number stickers for dating the calendar, but I found that writing them in with coordinating markers worked much better.

Last fall, I saw a calendar done in a local scrapbook store and it seemed to me that the cut files made the pages pop.  She used Cricut cartridges, but I didn’t have many for use on a monthly calendar.  I began to think about the files I had by theme from ScrappingTable, and others I got from LetteringDelights also seemed to work with these papers.  That made me very happy!  My first calendar I did with collages of pictures, so I really didn’t have room for cut files and embellishments at all.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Cut Files:

Snowflake (January):   LetteringDelights.com “Alpine Snow” set Frame (February/April/November/December):  LetteringDelights “Square Frame” SVG Set Frame (September):  Round Frames from LetteringDelights.com SVG set, three welded in SCAL Clouds:  LetteringDelights “Balloon Craze” Set Bird:  ScrappingTable.com svg cut file (also highly recommend) June:  Clouds/Umbrella–scrappingtable.com July:  Fireworks/4th of July Title/Chair:  ScrappingTable.com While you are at LettingDelights.com shopping for SVGs, you can also pick up NINE FREE FONTS by subscribing to their newsletter when you click from this banner image: 9 Free FontsBe sure to check out Lettering Delight’s sale items, free items, and promotional items.  Last week I got their “Balloon Craze” SVG set for free!

Leave a Reply

