Skip to content

Fall Pumpkin Card

August 25, 2010

This card is also for the JustRite Color Challenge.  I had several cards I really HAD to get out this week, plus two football games, two scrimmages, a solo at church, a children’s musical…well, let’s just say that sticking a similar color theme has helped me make good time!  I love these colors!

I had cut this pumpkin out last fall with a beautiful free SVG file for my Cricut  called “Filigree Pumpkin” given by Cheeky Magpie.  I simply did a “blockout” version for the back of it.  I admired it.  Cut it.  Glued it…then kept it on my desk, admired it for months, and finally filed it away!  For the life of me, could not figure out how to use it!  BUT…this year, I’d purchased some beautiful sentiments from JustRite, along with some Nestabilities and a Martha Stewart punch or two.  It’s amazing how the little things can make a card!  I’ve been making cards probably a year or so, and it’s STILL fun!  (Again, something I said I’d never do!)

The ribbon is random silk from my stash.  The cardstock is my favorite:  Core’dinations.  LOVE the colors, weight, and everything about this cardstock (except it doesn’t stamp well due to texture).  I added some bling in the corners after chomping corners with an old corner punch which is a favorite of mine (perhaps MM–no name on it).

I showed my husband and asked what it needed…he said, “Maybe some gold on the pumpkin?”  Glitter seemed too much, so I grabbed a gold gel pin and risked it {holding my breath}!    I liked the little extra elegance and focal point it lent.  This is for a sweet lady in my church who also shares my birthday.  She sends me a card every year.  I can’t wait to get a special card to her!  It’s the special people behind the cards that make card-making so fun, isn’t it?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

