Skip to content

Boy Football Card with JustRight Stamps

August 25, 2010

Okay, so let me just say that this post makes me a little happy and a little sad.  I am totally happy that I accomplished a male enough card for my 8th grade boy to take to school.  Yet, I’m totally sad that thoughts of his buddies kept me up last night.  So, I got up at 1AM and made them a card.

Two of his football friends sustained broken arms last night in the football game.  {sigh}.  And, we lost the game.

Back to the happy parts, though!  I took two cards, and the principles said the team could sign them over lunch.  I plan to pick the signed cards up after school and deliver them.  One boy had to have pins and surgery…he did come out of that fine.  I met his mom and grandmother at the hospital today.  Such sweet people!

So:  male cards are always a challenge, right?  This one was a bit more challenging than the usual because I knew 40 middle school football players plus staff were going to be handling it to sign it.  I really didn’t want to put anything on there I didn’t mind having torn off.

I found this very cool football paper in my stash from a clearance rack find.  It’s from a K & Company, a vintage line.  The olive green distressing on that paper hit the green part of the “green, orange, brown” color challenge.

The football is a die I got recently for the cuttlebug (Big Lots, LOVE it…I’ve used it three times for boy cards in the last couple weeks now!).  It came with the football holder, so I just ran it through twice.

I inked it up really well to make it nice and “dirty”, then added some white (don’t tell them it’s eyeshadow!) to the football threads.

The sentiment stamp is from a well used “go-to” set of JustRite’s stamps called Just a Note Borders & Centers.  Can I just seriously say that every crafter deserves this set.

The mat for the sentiment was  Large Nestabilities Rectangle–I didn’t want to do a lot of matting, so the long rectangle worked great for both the sentiment and the football together.  I’ll have to do that again.

Ink:  Memento Rich Cocoa.

Oh, and I almost forgot, this card is also part of JustRite’s Fall Color Challenge for this week.  I think I could make countless cards with this challenge.  It really got my mojo moving, and I needed all the help I could get.  I needed a LOT of cards this week for special people, and having a direction was awesome!  I’ve seen people enter more than one card for the challenge, so I hope I’m on target with a few entries.  Hopefully some kind soul will let me know if I’m off base on that!  🙂

Blessings!

Maggie (aka Joan)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

