Skip to content

Palm Sunday Sunday School Craft Using My Cricut and SCAL

April 4, 2009

Tonight I prepared some Palm Sunday crafts for my Sunday School class using Sure Cuts a Lot and my Cricut.
record-keeper_palm-sunday-1

I got the original idea from the fine people here, then decided I didn’t want to devote the classroom time to cutting due to the make-up of my class this year…so I made a quick cricut pattern using SCAL and pre-cut those.

Also, in attaching the frons to the straws, I decided that stapling the paper through the straw was going to work better for us than the recommended gluing.  I also decided to cut from green paper rather than going the “coloring” route, though if you wanted the project to take more time you could add those elements in.

record-keeper_palm-sunday-3

It was suggested that the straws made a little safer project for 2nd graders than read palm branches, and it’s just a cool project using things I already had at home.

To create the fronds, I just opened SCAL, and “welded” together an oval and a rectangle to get the original shaped.  Except for the special frond at the end of the straw…for it, I welded on a triangle for wrapping around the straw.

I wanted floppy paper, so I used regular green paper rather than card stock.  That was all good, except that it did curl up when I pulled it off the sticky cricut mat.  I figure that will make a good conversation piece.  They can probably smooth it back out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

