Skip to content

Making Your Own Christmas Cards

November 16, 2008

I’ve read a lot about “simplicity” and the holiday season. 

The trick to doing some fun, crafty, special things is to start early, enjoy it, and only do it if it is a blessing. 

If I may get a little spiritual for a moment:  I think of the way God handled celebrations in the Old Testament.  They were lavish, elaborate, detailed, and full of meaning.  I feel a sense of connectionto Him in making the celebrations that are most important to him most important in my own life as well. 

I really enjoy giving myself to something simple, a work of hands that goes out to friends and family–often the only communication you will have with many of them for months, if not years!

If you decide to make your own cards for the first time this year, as I did, using primarily the tools and stash you already have…leave a link in my comments.  I’d love to see your attempts.

I ordered some Christmas cards from JoAnn’s last week on sale 40% off with a free shipping coupon I found in an online coupon listing for free shipping.  I am using these and these.  I wasn’t sure what stamps I wanted to use, so I just decided to order both stacks and be random.  The blues for snowmen and the reds and greens for more traditional Christmas images.

I’m working on the best way to photo cards!  There are a few here, click to enlarge.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brittany permalink
    December 8, 2008 10:42 am

    I’m making some Christmas cards this year as well! I made several last Thursday night, but haven’t done any since then. I was very unproductive Friday night at the crop, but just enjoyed being with others and using their cool toys! I’ll try to post some pics later this week.

  2. silkeshimazu permalink
    December 16, 2008 10:22 am

    I love your cards! Very well done! I made my own Christmas cards too this year. Please visit my blog if you want to take a look.

    http://silkeshimazu.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

